Welcome to the website for the Confederation of the Cinque Ports. Here you will find information about the fascinating history of the Cinque Ports, information about the individual Member Towns as well as news about the current work of the Cinque Ports.

History of the
Cinque Ports

Situated along the coast of Sussex and Kent, the Cinque Ports are a confederation of historical ports which, for hundreds of years, provided ships and sailors to defend England’s coast against invaders in return for special privileges from the Crown. 

Aerial view of Tenterden

Member Towns

The following Member Towns make up the Confederation of the Cinque Ports: Deal Dover Faversham Folkestone Hastings Hythe Lydd Margate New Romney Ramsgate Rye Sandwich Tenterden and Winchelsea.  Click on the anchors below to learn more about each town.

Current Work

While the Cinque Ports may no longer be critical to the defence of England, the Confederation of the Cinque Ports remains alive and well.  The member towns are rich in heritage and history each with its own stories to tell and interesting places to visit.  

Speakers day
Speaker's Day 2023

© Confederation of the Cinque Ports 2023